After the hugely successful launch of Eat Sides, KSI has teamed up with Logan Paul to launch an energy drink called Prime.
KSI, who has experience launching a dark kitchen brand that serves Halal chicken, took to Twitter to announce that Prime is Halal. However, the Prime website FAQs section states that their drinks are not Halal certified.
Update: The Prime website has since been updated and now confirms Prime is Halal, but does not hold Halal certification:
While Prime products do not hold a formal Halal Certification; our products do not constitute any ingredients or manufacturing processes that would require such certification.
This statement under the FAQs section on the Prime website reaffirms that Prime energy drinks are Halal, according to the manufacturer. Note, this has not been confirmed by a third-party certification body that would inspect the supply chains and ingredients used.
Despite this discrepancy, it is worth noting that Prime drinks are made up of 10% coconut water and are suitable for a vegan diet. Additionally, there is no known presence of alcohol in the ingredients, which may also make them suitable for those following a Halal diet.
It is important to note that, while Prime drinks may meet certain criteria that are consistent with the principles of Halal, they are not formally Halal certified. Those who follow a strict Halal diet may want to seek out products that have been formally certified by a recognized Halal certification agency.
Overall, Prime is an energy drink that is made with coconut water and is suitable for a vegan diet. While KSI has stated that it is Halal, it is not formally Halal certified. It is up to individuals to determine whether or not Prime meets their dietary needs and preferences.
For full clarity, the ingredients of KSI's Prime drink are detailed below:
Read more about the importance of Halal certification
Some online sources have claimed that Prime drinks have been advertised as not Halal due to cross-contamination.
Though no evidence has been provided to support this claim, there is a possibility that Prime drinks are cross-contaminated with non-Halal products during production. Halal certification is one way to prove that there is no cross-contamination.
However, as mentioned above, Prime drinks are not (yet) approved by a Halal certification board so customers are recommended to carry out their own due dilligence and research to determine if Prime drinks are suitable for a Halal diet due to cross-contamination at the production facility.
Since Prime is advertised as vegan-friendly (though not Vegan-society approved) it is unlikely to be contaminated with ingredients extracted from animals. However, production may be shared with alcoholic drinks which are not suitable for a Halal diet.
If you have additional information to contribute to this page, please email hello [at] halaljoints.com